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REEMPLOYED RETIRED TEACHERS AND ADMINISTRATORS
		           - HB202 sunset clause reminder -	 			 

HB202 was passed 
b y  t h e  I d a h o 
Legislature 5 years 
ago. This added 
section H to Idaho 
Code 33-1004 and 
amended 59-1356. 
The law,which went 
into effect on July 

1, 2007, addressed the reemployment of retired 
teachers and administrators. PERSI wants to 
remind schools about the 5-year sunset clause 
associated with these changes. This means, come 
July 1, 2012 all provisions of 59-1356 (4) and 33-
1004 (H) of Idaho Code will no longer exist. This 

could  impact retirees who returned to work under 
these provisions.

School districts that hired retired teachers or 
administrators under Idaho Code 33-1004H need 
to be aware that beginning July 1, 2012, these 
individuals will no longer be able to collect a 
monthly PERSI retirement benefit along with a 
salary AND will have to begin paying contributions 
to PERSI.
 
Questions about HB202 should be directed to the 
PERSI Answer Center at 334-3365 in the Treasure 
Valley area or toll-free at 1-800-451-8228 from 
other parts of the state.

         KEEPING CONTACT INFORMATION CURRENT 	        
Employer Email Addresses
PERSI is in the midst of a project to 
update  contact names and email 
addresses in its system.  Anytime an 
employer has a change in payroll or 

human resources (HR) personnel, that information 
should be conveyed to PERSI. Each month, PERSI 
emails payroll and HR staff the News To Use 
newsletter. Occasionally, there are additional 
mailings. On average, 24-30 emails are returned 
as undeliverable. This means 1) an employer 
doesn't receive necessary information from PERSI;  
2) the employer cannot share vital information 
with employees; and 3) each affected employer 
has to be called to determine the reason for the 
bounce back. This process is time consuming for 
everyone.  Employers can contact the Employer 
Service Center (1-866-887-9525 or 287-9525) at 
any time with changes. 

In addition to the payroll and HR contacts, PERSI 
maintains a list of legal and executive level contacts. 
Emails are often sent to these contacts regarding 
legislative changes or to arrange meetings with PERSI's 
executive director, so it's equally important to keep 
these contacts updated. 

Employee Mailings
Employers are reminded to update 
mailing information for their employees 
whenever there's a change. The only 
way for PERSI to keep its records 
current is via employer transmittals. 
Let your employees know the importance of updating 
their personnel records so the information can be 
shared with PERSI; otherwise, they could miss their 
newsletters, annual statements, or other mailings.
 
Please let PERSI know about any personnel, email, or 
mailing address changes.  Your help is very appreciated.



Two key responsibilities of PERSI employers are 
determining eligibility and submitting contributions 
each pay period.

Determining Eligibility
Correctly determining the eligibility of new 
employees and reporting changes are important 
employer responsibilities. 

•	 When a new employee is hired, it is up to payroll 
or human resources personnel to determine 
whether the individual meets the definition 
of employee for PERSI membership purposes. 
Generally, any employee who is expected to be 
employed for at least 5 months and who works 
20 hours per week or more is eligible and must 
make contributions to PERSI.

•	 The hours and duration of employment for 
existing employees should be carefully monitored 
so changes and errors in eligibility are quickly 
identified and corrected.

Along with eligibility, employers must correctly 
determine if employees are anything other than 
a Class I employee, which is the most common 
classification. (Review the Employer Manual on the 
PERSI website for more about classes.)

Enrolling New Employees
If an employee is determined to be eligible for 
PERSI, the employer needs to:

 1) Provide a Beneficiary Designation RS115 	 	
	     form to the new employee; and

 2) Add the new employee to the transmittal   	 	
     report

Deducting, Reporting, and Paying Contributions
Employee contributions are calculated when the 
employer processes payroll and deductions are 
made from each employee's pay at that time.  PERSI 
is sent a transmittal report of eligible employees' 
hours, pay, and contributions.   Employers who 
participate in the unused sick leave fund are also 
required to report unused sick leave units for their 

employees. Employer contributions are calculated 
and paid at this same time.

Idaho Code 59-1325 (1) requires employers to report 
and remit contributions within 5 days of each pay 
period, along with any contributions or credits 
to correct previous errors or omissions. Interest 
charges apply to late contributions.

(Note: Contributions are a percent of pay. Currently, 
employees contribute 6.23 percent and employers 
contribute 10.39 percent for   general members 
(Class I). The rate increase set for July 1, 2011 
was postponed for one year, which means rates are 
currently set to increase on July 1, 2012.)

Report Changes
Whenever an employee terminates employment, 
takes a leave of absence without pay, or reduces 
their work schedule to less than 20 hours per week, 
employers should report the change to PERSI on the 
next transmittal.  If an employee is retiring, or to 
report the death of an employee,  the employer 
should complete and submit a Notice of Change in 
Employment Status RS109 form to PERSI. 
	
The transmittal is also the means for reporting 
name and address changes to PERSI.  And if an 
employee who was previously ineligible for PERSI 
membership becomes eligible, the employer should 
provide a Beneficiary Designation RS115 form to 
that employee.

Choice Plan 
Statute 59-1308(5) requires employers to also 
report and pay Choice Plan contributions by the 
fifth working day following the end of a pay period. 
Unpaid contributions, if any, would be considered 
delinquent after the fifth day, and interest will 
start to accrue.

Questions about eligibility or contributions should 
be directed to the  Employer Service Center toll-
free at 1-866-887-9525 or 287-9525 from the 
Treasure Valley area. 

TWO IMPORTANT EMPLOYER REPORTING RESPONSIBLITIES
	           - determine eligibility and pay contributions -		 		


